Update on my adventures 9

The summer got to the point that makes me feel that I am not sure if I can take more of the sun and heat. And the temperature is supposed to be even higher in the next coming days. It is my first summer since we moved here that I am entirely spending in Malta, therefore I wasn’t sure what to expect. July was great. Bit windy, with a lot of sunshine and agreeable temperatures but August seems to be from completely different planet. Due to the humidity and heat, I cannot sleep at night and having a fury friend who loves to sleep snuggled next to me or on my back doesn’t help at all;) Still, I’m trying to get out of the house during less hot hours and enjoy some of my free time outside. That’s more or less what I’ve been up to the last few weeks of the summer.

1. I spent few days in Gozo in a charming old farmhouse in Gharb. I’m planning to write a post and compare two of my Gozo stays. The next one is in Zebbug, again for few days. This time in a flat with a nice view.

2. During the morning I still continue with my office work and in some afternoons I give lessons at the summer school, as well as having lessons at home. I even managed to get a new student who after 2 lessons decided to rent a piano. I’m very happy with her commitment and looking forward to seeing her progress. I also take part in Studio Lyrique – Summer Opera Workshops where we focus on Mozart’s Cosi fan tutte which hopefully will be presented to the audience in November.

3. We have some friends living in Marsascala and finally we got convinced to go there more often. I used to think it is so far as it is the other end of the island but now actually we try to go at least twice a month. I really enjoy swimming in St. Thomas Bay and visit the reggae/Caribbean bar Zion.

4. I found a quiet and not expensive lunch spot in Naxxar . Of course now I have forgotten the name but it is cafe…. On the corner where you turn towards Mosta . It has tasty wraps, baguettes, foccacias and desserts and everything in really pocket lfriendly prices. And the ice coffee is one of the best I had here on the island. Except of the homemade, of course;-)

5. We tried the swimming spot in Ta’biex which is the closest to where we live and we were positively surprised. It’s never really crowded, even so there are mostly local people and the water is decent-not dirty at all. Plus you swim with the view of Valletta, pretty cool!

6. Looking forward to September-finally I will have some real time off. Firstly 2 weeks in Poland, few days back in Malta and then we’re heading for 2 weeks holidays in Sicily . Everything is planned and booked and I am really happy we will discover this beautiful island. More posts and hopefully pictures will follow.
I apologise for lack of photos this time. I am in between the phones and the one I currently have unfortunately has a pretty poor camera…

Leave a comment