Polyglot gathering Bratislava 2017 – what I’ve learnt about languages and myself… 

The gathering came to an end, at least for me as on Sunday afternoon after the 3 morning talks I took a boat – twin liner to Vienna. Unfortunately, the weather got worse and whole boat journey I spent in the pouring rain. 

But back to the gathering and my thoughts about what it meant to me in regards to languages and myself. 

I really enjoyed some of the introductions to languages as well as talks presented by people who I follow on blogs, YouTube, podcasts. I think it’s quite important to acknowledge that they are regular people not just invisible beings behind the other side of the screen. That being said, I believe most of them have some language related products to sell and even when they weren’t directly marketing it, you could feel that some of the talks are leading us to buying their product. And don’t get me wrong, most of them have a really good products and they need to make a living as well. Nevertheless, after few talks of that sort it got tiring. Also, I chose few lectures about planning, motivation, scheduling, methods of learning language and then I felt that I actually have this knowledge but I’m not always implementing it, so attending this presentations maybe gave me a small nudge in the right direction. 

What, I’ve learnt about myself? Well, I found out or maybe confirmed it that I am not a sort of person who comes up to strangers and struck conversation with them, especially if the group of people is larger as it’s quite intimidating, not too mention you need to do that in a foreign language. I’m not counting English here as it’s a language I use on everyday basis but still it doesn’t mean I would start talking to a random person, even if they’re a fellow polyglot. But then, when someone approaches me, I’m happy to talk and I’m quite chatty. So I guess I have both introvert and extrovert parts in me. 

In the end, I didn’t befriend plenty of people, just a few, I did use my languages but in a limited way as I wasn’t approaching people and yes, I was on my own sometimes. 

So would I go to another gathering next year? Maybe, if it would be held in a different place, that would be a great reason to travel, talks were interesting enough, I did get a boost for keeping up the learning languages and probably more motivation. Regarding social life and interactions, I’m not quite sure if next year I’d be more chatty or I’d still feel a bit out of place there… So there are many pros and some cons here. 

Overall, I’m happy that I have chosen to take part in it and also to have first holidays this year and much needed break from everyday life. 

4 thoughts on “Polyglot gathering Bratislava 2017 – what I’ve learnt about languages and myself… 

  1. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with the community! As long as the moments you were on your own make you feel as though you were being excluded, that’s fine. I find the that Polyglot Conference and the Polyglot Gathering, I’m always talking to new people and people I’ve met before. Hardly ever is there a moment on my own. The hammocks in the grounds helped me lie down and take a break at times when I really needed some quiet rest time.

  2. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with the community! As long as the moments you were on your own do not make you feel as though you were being excluded, that’s fine. I find the that Polyglot Conference and the Polyglot Gathering, I’m always talking to new people and people I’ve met before. Hardly ever is there a moment on my own. The hammocks in the grounds helped me lie down and take a break at times when I really needed some quiet rest time.

Leave a Reply

