Weekend break in Erice – day two

image

That's where I am writing this post...

Day two in Erice – surprise, surprise, there’s Internet here… It seems the first day we stayed here they forgot to set up the WiFi but today it’s working. It was good to have a day break and even though today I checked some things but just for a moment or two.  We’re continuing our lazy weekend here.  After coffee and cornetti in a friendly cafe nearby we walked down to check out exactly our departure tomorrow. We have the flight in the afternoon but the cable car doesn’t run on Mondays until 1pm so I had to find an alternative. I’m happy to say that my Italian is not too bad. I manage to communicate easily. I can understand more or less 60-70% from what I hear. It’s such a boost of confidence and encouragement to learn even more. Actually I bought some local materials to keep me on my toes when I’m back in Malta.

image

Anyway today we’re just wandering around, staying mostly near the castle and enjoying the sun and nature with a glass or two of wine and Marsala 😉

image

image

image

image

image

image

We found a hidden spot where we spent some time admiring the view. There are so many birds here and it’s so green that’s a pleasure to just sit and relax.

Today for lunch we grabbed some arrancini to eat on the go( also for economical reasons) while admiring the view and prepare for nice last meal in the evening. I’m currently sitting in the nice garden with views of town and enjoying the sun. Life’s good…

image

Just before dinner we had a local beer with a view of Trapani down below.
First dinner we headed to Osteria di Venera where we ate the first night. Also this time it didn’t disappoint us.

image

Tagliata

image

Contorno- grilled radicchio

image

My partner's pasta ai funghi

We barely had space for dessert but decided to indulge ourselves. Not everyday you have your last dinner I’m Erice.

image

Cannoli siciliano

image

Pistachio ice-cream

Overall, all was good, even the bill wasn’t to high afterwards. Full of great food and wine we went to bed.

Leave a Reply

