Popeye village

Few weeks ago me and my partner visited the famous Popeye Village in the north of the island. We used to drive past and usually just look at it but this time we bought tickets –  around 10eur each and we went inside. Some of the extras usually included in the ticket like a boat trip weren’t available due to low season bit still one could get a free postcard, photo and a glass of punch.  We also received a map and schedule of all the entertainment provided during the day.
The village is really cute and it’s quite amazing that everything was built from wood as a film scenery and it survived till now.

I enjoyed visiting but as I haven’t seen the film,  I was not too amazed by the entertainment provided which was an enactment of the scenes from the film.  Maybe because of the performers taking part there who didn’t seem too professional or because that sort of humor wasn’t the type of the one I find amusing. I sort of have mixed feelings about it as well as the price of the ticket, a bit too much for what it entails or maybe it’s not really my cup of tea. I’m not sure. You have to find out for yourself. If you’re thinking about the scenery, it’s really magical if you avoid performance, restaurant and souvenir shop.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

One thought on “Popeye village

Leave a Reply

