Łódź – my home town

Recently I spent a week in my home town in Poland –  Łódź. The weather was very surprising for early February –  7 degrees and sunn. No snow or minus temperature what so ever. It was a pleasant break from school and work and nice time catching up with friends and family and shopping 😉 The złoty – Polish currency is quite weak at the moment so my hardly earned Euros had more value.
I was staying in the centre so I had plenty of time to take long walks on Piotrkowska Street – main and the longest walking Street in Łódź and not only. As well as visiting my old school – Academy of Music which is currently undergoing a big renovation.
image
image

image
On the main street there are several sculptures of famous people connected with Łódź, like Julian Tuwim – poet, Władysław Reymont – writer, Artur Rubinstein – pianist as well as typical people of Łódź from older times like factory owners or lamp guy from the photo above.
image

image

image

Artur Rubinstein

image
It is always great to catch up with friends and family, even if it’s for the short time. Thanks to direct flights to Warsaw and pretty decent train connection, it’s easier now for me to visit.
Especially interesting and also a bit emotional was my really short visit in the Academy of Music where I spent 5 years.

image

So many time I was walking there


image

image

image
I haven’t met any professors as it was during the winter break but it still bought vivid memories of my time there.
image

Now, I’m back in Malta enjoying the warm and sunny winter. I’m also back with my Italian lessons with italki which bring me a lot if joy. Till the next time…

2 thoughts on “Łódź – my home town

Leave a Reply

