Sketches from Florence

My two days passed in Florence and I’m well into my third one – l’ultima giornata.  I really like the city because it’s so walkable and compact.  You can really just walk everywhere.  How great is that! Not only for health reasons – I wished I walked more in Malta, especially since I moved from the centre so getting to promenade means 15 minutes in the car.  Walking wise, well I haven’t checked that yet, but might be more than hour.  To walk to Buggiba from our house is 1hour 16 minutes according to our friends who did that.  But coming back to Florence, during two days here, I visited two museums –  uffizzi gallery and dell’academia.
First one it’s a big gallery where you can see Botticcelli’s Primavera and the birth of the Venus.  Quite impressive and I really enjoyed it.  It took two hours to check everything out.  Plus the views from the windows 😉

image

image

image

The museum all’academia takes less time and the most interesting sculpture is of course Michalangielo’s David.

image

image

The replica can be seen on piazza della signora. 

image

In dell’academia there was also museum of musical instruments which had few stradivarius.
image

I also took two free walking tours with Florence Free Tours –  one was about Medici family and the other was about history and architecture of the town.  Both were with guide whisky name was Donato. Very knowledgeable and interesting guy who reminds you of history professor – in a good way with his brown corduroy jacket and ability to make simple facts interesting.
In the evenings I took advantage of aperitivo hour.  This time I took recommendations from other blogger in blogosphere –  Girl in Florence whose post I just love to read and even before coming here I have been a loyal follower.  I went to Gecko on the other side if the river and to Uva Neri. And today I’m planning to check out some other place – Sei Divino.
I also went to piazzalle Michalangielo from where you can see a beautiful panoramic view of Florence.  I stayed there good few hours till sunset.

image

image

image

image

image
As today us my last day, I spent it walking in the more quiet areas which made me thing I’m in some small Tuscan town not in Florence as there was none around me.
image

image

image

image

image

image

Also on my way I found chestnuts which is a clear sign, autumn is coming. Although in Malta is still pretty warm, here the weather changed drastically.
image

One thing which I find weird is that there’s no seating area near the river for just pure relax. I eventually found some benches a bit away from the beaten track but close to the river and Ponte Vecchio. Otherwise, you would have to go to cafe to sit and enjoy a view. It’s one of the good things in Malta, that everywhere on the promenade one can sit for hours and stare at the water and don’t have to go to overpriced cafes.
Tomorrow Pisa and flight back home…

Leave a Reply

