another Friday dinner- SaReGaMa

Last week we went to Indian restaurant in Fortina Hotel in Sliema. I decided it to take it easy on my partner’s pocket and suggested SaReGaMa as I sometimes receive some offers from them and this time it was 35 % off the food bill.

We tried this places on two occasions during lunch and the food was pretty decent ,as were the prices. We weren’t disappointed this time either. We were sat in the tropical gardens where few different restaurants from Fortina Hotel have their outside seating. There was a really nice breeze which we welcomed as a relief in that hot day.  The surroundings- palm trees and nearby pool made quite a romantic atmosphere.

tropical gardens with a view of wine;)

tropical gardens with a view of wine;)

IMG_20140627_194242a

As always when visiting the Indian restaurant I couldn’t start the meal without poppadoms and sauces.

IMG_20140627_194222a

It seems that when you’re eating Indian food in UK or Ireland, this starter is usually free of charge but in Malta you always have to pay extra, although this time it wasn’t too pricey.

For the main dish we went for Lamb Passanda for me, Paneer dish for my partner along with Pulao rice and garlic naans.

Paneer in tomato curry sauce

Paneer in tomato curry sauce

IMG_20140627_195117c IMG_20140627_195109a

Lamb Passand with garlic naan

Lamb Passanda with garlic naan

Both dishes were very tasty. My lamb was very tender and even though I am not a big fan of this type of meat ,I had tried it there before and it was the best lamb I have ever tasted. Paneer meal was also good, maybe not spicy enough for my partner’s liking but nevertheless very well prepared. One thing which strikes me as odd in most of the Indian restaurants, when you order a meal it’s mostly for example chicken in sauce but where are all the other ingredients that actually make this sauce? When I am preparing curry at home, you still can taste a bit of onion, pepper, garlic and ginger etc. And in the restaurant it seems that they either blend it altogether or use a ready paste with these ingredients included…

Anyway, to sum up, so far SaReGaMa seems to be one of the best Indian restaurant I have tried here and in addition, you can dine in really nice environment. For sure , I will be back! And now looking forward to another Friday night then:)

Leave a Reply

