May-full of concerts …

May and the beginning of June was full of performances that I took part in. It was a great experience and I am glad I had the privilege to play at so many different venues but in the same time it was a very busy and tiring time for me as I had to prepare varied program for around 8 concerts.

It started with the week in the middle of May having 4 concerts- Prize Day of Johann Strauss School of Music in Manoel theatre– my début there, music studio concert with School of Performing Arts, A level flute accompaniment at the University and concert with trio of singers at MCI ( also my first time there) in Le Meridien. All the concerts went well but the amount of stress was enormous. Following week I was playing a recital with one of the voice student , accompanying at the voice A level exam in Gozo -almost like playing abroad and having a concert with voice students at Johann Strauss.

While in Gozo I had a wonderful time in Xlendi Bay where I treated myself to a well-deserved lunch. As the exam started at 9.25, it meant I had to be in Gozo well before 8 am which made me get up at 5 am and leave the house around 6 am to get the ferry across and make sure I am not late. After the exam I chilled in Xlendi and I got my first sunburnt there as I didn’t think that an hour in the sun so early in morning will do me any harm. I was unfortunately mistaken . Anyway, later on I tried one of the restaurants on the beach and it was a great choice. The boat house might not be the cheapest but offers a great value for the money. First of all, you get free appetizer which includes 2 different types of bruschetta, fresh bread and marinated vegetables. It is a meal in itself. I followed it with a starter of mixed frutti di mare. I am glad I chose the starter portion as after the appetizer I wouldn’t be able to manage the full meal. It was so tasty, fresh and nicely spiced. After the meal I ordered a double espresso as I still felt bit sleepy after waking up at 5am and in front of me there was still  whole afternoon of playing as well. When I asked for the cheque I got a complimentary shot of cold limoncello which just made my day and fully convinced me that this is a restaurant that I will be coming back to in the future. I cannot forget trying the ice-creams in Xlendi where they offer real Italian ice-creams in so many flavours that you could go probably for a week there just trying the different ones. Well, no wonder I didn’t order the main course, as I had ice-creams first.

 

Early morning on the ferry in Cirkewwa

Early morning on the ferry in Cirkewwa

Xlendi

Xlendi

quiet street in Victoria, early morning again

quiet street in Victoria, early morning again

Beautiful water in Xlendi

Beautiful water in Xlendi

of to the sea

off to the sea

The Boat House restaurant at the bottom

The Boat House restaurant at the bottom

The beginning of June was started with another 2 concerts . First one was the final concert of TMYO-the opera workshop I have been playing at along with the other pianist for the last 9 months and all of us there were working hard towards this performance.

In the same week I again performed in Le Meridien with MCI and this time I was playing one of my favourite piano piece- The ritual fire dance by Manuel de Falla as well as accompanying young violinists.

Yesterday I started playing for the 4-days marathon of ballet exams and after Sunday I can almost say I am done for this season with playing and teaching and finally I will be enjoying Malta more which will also result in more posts and not neglecting my blog like I had in the previous months.

Leave a Reply

