Short London Break

Last week just before Christmas we went to visit our families ( in Poland and England) and then decided to meet for a short break in London. Funnily enough, I have been to so many different places but I have never been to London before. The trip was planned before hand. I booked a cool room with airbnb, then bought the tickets for the shows and I was impatiently waiting for the break. Last few months my school job and office work along with rehearsals to Teatru Manuel Youth Opera drained all the power out of me so I was really looking forward to get away from everything.  I arrived on a very late flight from Łódź and then after a bus journey from London Stansted I got to our room in London near Elephant and Castle Underground.  Our first day in London was great. The weather was marvellous. It was sunny and not too cold. We decided to visit the prime London attraction- the London eye. It is not a cheap thing to do- for 2 tickets we paid around 40 pounds and it seems everything in London costs that much. I guess every time I come back I will visit one thing, so I am not going to get broke.

London Eye gondola

London Eye gondola

British parliament

British parliament

other side of London

other side of London

After visiting the London Eye, we walked near the Parliament, Big Ben towards the Westminster Cathedral.

London Parliament and the famous red double deckers

London Parliament and the famous red double deckers

Big Ben

Big Ben

 

And then next to Trafalgar Square we had lunch at Pret a Manger- very popular cafe in London with quite a good selection of freshly made sandwiches, wraps etc. Then we had a quick look at the National Gallery- the entrance is free and next time when I have more time I will take advantage of it.

National Gallery

National Gallery

IMG_20131220_144655a

Then next on our list was St. James Park and Buckingham palace and then off to Covent Garden area. I have to say that during these 2 days we were walking and being up for 12 hours everyday as not to miss anything. You cannot imagine how my feet felt.

no need to comment...

no need to comment…

Buckingham  Palace

Buckingham Palace

St. James Park

St. James Park

grey squirrel- they were loads of them there

grey squirrel- they were loads of them there

In the evening of the first day we went to see musical Once– based on the movie. It was a wonderful, intimate musical and we even got a better seats so we could really follow everything what was going on stage. The performers were really talented. They were the actors, musicians and singers all in one. One word- amazing!

Once

Once

The next day the weather was very disappointing…Cloudy and rainy whole day, at least a bit warmer. We headed to Portobello market and we got bit lost on the way. The market itself is nice but in the rain- it doesn’t work well that way. One of the highlights was the shop Books for Cooks. I didn’t buy anything because the choice was overwhelming but I will check their website for sure…

We had a lovely meal at the Jamie’s Oliver restaurant in Portobello. We didn’t go there on purpose but it was raining so heavily that we just went to the first establishment possible. As a big enthusiast of cooking, it was quite an experience to eat in place owned by the famous British chef.

IMG_20131221_123959a IMG_20131221_124007a IMG_20131221_124133a

beet and squeeze- orange, beetroot and banana smoothie-now my favourite

beet and squeeze- orange, beetroot and banana smoothie-now my favourite

real breakfest

real breakfast

veggie breakfest

veggie breakfast

 

 

Afterwards we headed to see the London Bride. It is quite amazing although after the whole morning walking in the rain, it didn’t make as a big impression as it could.

IMG_20131221_161044a IMG_20131221_155303a

We headed home to warm up and then off to the show again. This time it was the famous Wicked which was performed in a big theatre Apollo Victoria. Even though we didn’t have the cheapest seats we were quite far from the stage and were forced to rent binoculars. The audience was packed and the show…well, I have to say I haven’t seen anything like it before- the special effects and size of the cast were impressive. The voices, especially of the female cast were quite good. I think I would enjoyed more if I could be a bit closer to the stage and also if I wasn’t so knackered after 2 days constant walking but nevertheless it was a great night.

IMG_20131221_200425a

After all, I think London is an amazing place. It is not as charming and pretty as Paris, where I thought to myself, yes I could live here. London is too similar to Dublin in some ways- the weather especially and as you can see from the blog, I left Dublin 😉 But it has so much to offer that it won’t be my last visit.

2 thoughts on “Short London Break

  1. Happy Holidays! I love London very much. I wouldn’t mind living there, but it is way too expensive like you say. I have visited so many times though and l never get tired of it. I love getting the half price tickets so l can catch shows. We spent the holidays right here in Malta, our first. Here’s to a great 2014!!!

    • Hi there! I hope you had a great first holidays in Malta. I hope you don’t feel it is too cold…Enjoy the sun here why it lasts. I am aways bit afraid of January and February are there the most gloomy months here, so far from my experience. But I heard this year the winter won;t be too cold. Fingers crossed. All the best and it would be nice to see you around in Malta someday.Cheers!

Leave a Reply

