Weekend in Vienna

During my German adventure at MTB course all my weekends we’re to my disposal and I used it for as much travelling as I could fit in.
With two other pianists and one of the staff- acting/dance teacher from New York, we decided to go to Vienna for a weekend. As I am quite well organised regarding travelling, I volunteer to book the hotel as well as to sort out our train travels. Unfortunately, just one day before going there, the price of the return ticket raised and in the end we had to pay around 100 euros for the return tickets- 4 hours on the euro city train. The same price you could get a flight somewhere…
We got an early train to Kufstein and then we changed to our super- duper train to Vienna.
image

After the train journey we finally got to the city and decided to go straight to the hotel. We took quite a long routes not knowing exactly how to get there, so I got some moans form my fellow traveller who thought I booked the hostel at the end of the city;)
image

I booked a quadruple room in Menninger which was a really good idea. We paid 18 euros each and we got a nice clean room with private bathroom, 10 mintues away from the centre of the town.
After settling in, we decided to split. I wanted to more or less just get lost in the city and my two pianists wanted to go on the hop-on hop – off bus, so I stayed with my New York friend and we started to discover Vienna by foot. We went to all different part, just walking, talking and discovering new places. Like the hip district beyond the Museum quarter or the Naschmarkt
We ended the day with few drinks at the main canal which during the summer turns into local beach with small bars with hammocks , sun lounges and sand. Quite an experience. It was also amazing to spend a day with a person I barely knew and actually enjoy it quite a lot. We talked when we wanted to and we were silent when we needed it and it wasn’t uncomfortable. I really liked that…
The next day I decided to try to discover Vienna on the bike. Remembering my great bike experience in Dublin, Stockholm and other big European cities, I was happy to find that in Vienna there is a similar city bike system. I went with one of my friend in a search of Mozart grave which was situated in the outskirts of the city. We took a route next to the canal and it was a very enjoable ride excluding the fact that a previous day I bought an enormous poster ( form one of my favourite movies – Breakfast at Tiffany’s) and because we already checked out from the hotel, I was cycling with my overnight bag and the big poster hanging on my shoulder… Yes, it was quite a sight…
On the way there we managed to get a view of some interesting architecture.
image

image

It was quite amazing to see this crazy building which used to be a communal house and was redesigned by one of the important artists in Vienna – Friedensreich Hundertwasser . If weren’t on the bikes, I do not think we would stumble across them.
Then we were off to the cemetery and it was a long drive. I didn’t think it will be that far and it was quite difficult to find the right Street as well. The upside was that the weather was amazingly good, with perfect sunshine.
We finally got to the cemetery and after checking the map of the graves, we went off looking for the Mozart and Diabelli( quite famous classical composers- most of the intermediate piano students play his sonatinas or four-handed pieces) tombs.
image
image

I have to say, I was bit surprised that his real grave was so modest in comparison to all of the others city statues depicting him.
image

Later on that day we decided to take the the opera tour. It couldn’t be more adequate for the piano collaborators on the singer/pianist music course in Germany.
image

image

I was very impressed with the opera building and the fact that every single day there is a different performance. The prices of the tickets vary but if you are lucky and determined, you can queue 60 minutes or so before to get a standing ticket to the performance starting from as little as 3 euros. That’s quite a bargain. Although after waiting 1 hour I am not sure I would have enough power to stand for the next 3 and half hour… But probably, the performances are so incredible, you somehow find the stamina to do so.
image
image

image

The opera house was badly damaged during the war but afterwards they managed to rebuilt it. The interior is full of statues, golden ornaments, paintings etc.
image

The auditorium can hold 2200 opera and ballet lovers and like I said prices can range from few euros to more than 100 euros for a performance.
image

After the opera tour I still had time to stroll around the city and I absorbed the views.
image
image

I also had time to visit the famous cathedral – St. Stephen’s.
image
image
image

Unfortunately, the photos do not show all the beauty of the Vienna. I still am enchanted with the city- with its wide streets, amazing and enormous buildings and the overall very cultural atmosphere with many arts museums to go to like Leopold Museum where I had chance to see paintings by Klimt and Schiele and many concerts to attend. I would definitely like to come back there but you have to bear in mind, it is not the cheapest city to visit. So after saving some money, I will be back, maybe for an evening at the opera house. Fortunately, I got in touch with a friend of mine with whom I went to school to, who lives there here, so I have a place to stay:)

2 thoughts on “Weekend in Vienna

  1. It looks great and one of the places l can’t wait to visit. Glad you posted it …oh..and thanks for the heads up on Azzopardi location…

Leave a Reply

