Discovering the north of the island- Burrmarad, Mellieha and forest in L-Imbordin

I have just written a long post and somehow on my new tablet I managed to delete it…When I used to used the WordPress website, my post would save automatically every now and then so I wasn’t worried but it seems that the app on android doesn’t have that option…So coming back to post then, although it might not be as long as the one that disappeared…
Today we managed to get out of the house quite early and decided to drive up north to get some fresh air and see the countryside. Our first stop was a garden centre  in Burrmarad which is a turn left from St. Paul’s Bay roundabout. It is a great place for the plant lovers as you can see a vast array of indoor and outdoor plants. I was promised an orange tree which I have been dreaming of since we moved to Malta. So far, we ended up with some salad mixes and pepper seeds and a purple cactus. I am pretty sure we will be back there closer to the spring where we will get some plants and outdoor furniture to finally sort out our balcony.

image

one of the cactuses on sale there;)

image

our seeds

image

my purple cactus

Afterwards we drove to Mistra Bay which is just before Mellieha. If you’re driving there, you have to really watch out as the road is wide enough only for one car and getting back on the main road is really tricky as the exit is concealed. The bay itself is small and quite picturesque. We walked a bit to get better views of St. Paul’s and it seemed great until the wind changed…Then we smelt the worst pong you can ever imagine coming up form the rubbish pile which is near the road to Bugguba..It spoilt everything and I am not sure if I’m ever going back there again…

image

image

St. Paul's island where he shipwrecked

During the lunch time we strolled in Mellieha and after checking out the pretty views from the church square  ( when it is clear you can see Comino and Gozo from there) where I had a pleasure to play in August , we retreated to one of the restaurants on the main street.

image

Mellieha church

image

image

image

After lunch we decided to head home but the green valley which we could see from Mellieha bypass was tempting. It is the only, proper foerst in Malta, that’s what I heard. Somehow we found a road leading to it. This green part of Malta is hidden behind the tiny village of L-Imbordin, if I am not mistaken. You have to stick out to the path as it is hunting area but anyone who says that Malta is not green , should really check it out…

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

After a busy day like this, I am really happy to curl upon the sofa with Simba, glass of wine an good book. Recently, I’m hooked by Scandinavian authors and because I am quite up to date with Stieg Larssons and Jo Nesbo, my new favourite crime fiction writer is Camilla Lackberg. If you’re into that sort of writing, be aware, it’s addictive. I am into to 3rd book within the week;)

image

Simba accompanying me at writing the blog...

Leave a Reply

