Christmas came early:)

Yesterday I received my early Christmas package form my Mum and I am still very excited. Not only it arrived very quickly, just in 4 days which is quite surprising as recently MaltaPost doesn’t seem to like our address at all. Several letters went missing or were returned to a sender so I was quite happy to see this parcel arriving.

It contains our Christmas presents plus some of the favourite Polish food  that I will miss out because I am not spending Christmas back home. For those of you who’re not a foody like myself this post might not be interesting. The other thing is, we Polish have quite special dishes for Christmas Eve which we celebrate on 24th December. It is a complete vegetarian meal consisting of 12 traditional dishes. Last year I thought I can make it happen as my partner is vegetarian but when he saw different fishes and herring prepared for that day he bailed out…So this time whatever I am preparing it is only for me:) And so be it:)

These are photos of my favourites ingredients needed for Christmas and not only;)

Our presents. They supposed to be open on 24th but I am not sure if I can wait;)

Our presents. They supposed to be open on 24th but I am not sure if I can wait;)

The wild mushrooms picked  up by my Mum and then dried. Ideal for Christmas wild mushroom soup:)

The wild mushrooms picked up by my Mum and then dried. Ideal for Christmas wild mushroom soup:)

and their close up;)

and their close up;)

The cranberry with pear jam ( sor t of) and wild mushrooms in vinegar- the most delicious thing;)

The cranberry with pear jam ( sort of) and wild mushrooms in vinegar- the most delicious thing;)

And the close up of mushrooms;)

And the close up of mushrooms;)

Herrings. Very important dish for Christmas . Can be prepared in many different ways. My favourite is with apple and sour cream.

Herrings. Very important dish for Christmas . Can be prepared in many different ways. My favourite is with apple and sour cream.

Last but not least, kabanosy. Not really a Christmas dish but one of the tastiest Polish sausage. Unfortunately,  not available here in Malta...

Last but not least, kabanosy. Not really a Christmas dish but one of the tastiest Polish sausage. Unfortunately, not available here in Malta…

This all is waiting for the next week as my partner is going abroad for work purposes and I can indulge Polish meals everyday:)

Tomorrow I am planning to attend the Patches Market , then on Saturday chocolate workshop and Friday in 2 weeks the soap making workshop.

The beginning of Christmas season is starting very nicely. Not to mention the fact that because in Malta we have so many holidays , I am getting much more days off:) I just have to survive in schools till 21st December and then I am off till 6th January. Brilliant!!!

Leave a Reply

