Lifelong learning in Malta part 2

It has been more than a month since I started studying Maltese and Italian in Lifelong Learning Centre in Malta and I have to say I might revise my opinion of it. My first post was quite discouraging for all the people who were thinking about trying to learn anything in that centre. I have to admit that the lessons got better lately. On Maltese we started studying different verbs and actually write them down in a proper manner. Although I don’t really understand why do we mix all the tenses. I always thought that you should learn the present and when you’re comfortable using it, then you can move to other ones. Here we learn present, future and past. It’s a bit confusing , especially that the verbs which you can find in the dictionary are past tense third person masculine but present tense you create from the imperative…It is but tough to comprehend it. Lately, we had a monthly assessment and even the instructions were in Maltese but our class did pretty well. I scored 83% 🙂 Next week we are starting with the proper book and I feel that lessons are going in right direction.
My Italian classes also improved. There are still some people chatting in Maltese but it is much less than before. We also speeded up with the material and we have just finished our second chapter.
So maybe it is not going to be a waste of time and not as bad as it appeared in the beginning.
The only downside to it is that my mornings are busy and especially with classes finishing at 12 I don’t have too much time to do my own stuff like practicing, preparing for my piano classes. It makes me quite exhausted. To cheer myself up, I started counting weeks till Christmas and I have just more or less 4/5 weeks and there are some days off in December as well so I might survive till then;)

Leave a Reply

