wandering in Mdina and Rabat

I think all of us want sometime to just wander around, not to be bothered by time, The other day I had an occasion to have some time to get lost in Rabat, literally. It is a city situated just outside the very famous Mdina in Malta which is one of the oldest settlement on the island. But not only Mdina is worth visiting, Rabat also have some things to offer for tourists and not only. Last week I had some time left after dropping my mum at the airport and because I work in Attard which is like 10 minutes bus ride from Mdina, I decided to try to discover Rabat. I went without the map or any particular reason, just to see it, get lost, etc. After more than one hour of walking I was surprised to discover that I really got lost and didn’t have the faintest idea where to go. I walked near the Catacombs of St. Paul and St. Agatha, two very important Saints for Malta and St. Paul’s Grotto. But more important was just walking through these narrow streets during the lunch hour and seeing almost nobody around, excepts the cats. I really love these moments of immersing yourself in the history. I know it sounds bit pretentious but you should try it:)

narrow street in Rabat

typical image of Italy but it's Malta;)

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

Can you spot the cat?

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

another narrow street

Guess what this cat is hunting?

Yes, you're right , it's a lizard.

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

He's a bit of a meano...

a secret palace being renovated

Of course, it wouldn’t be far to attach some photos of the beautiful Mdina. An old village settlement that you can walk through/visit in 15 minutes;)

The Main gate

the main Church in Mdina

the view from the walls, featuring the Mosta Dome

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

typical door handle, although I saw a seahorse one as well

the entrance to the museum

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

the lazy cats near Mdina

;

the prettiest cat there

the red cat- it seems most of the cats in Malta are ginger, interesting

;

and the other one

Leave a Reply

